Skip to Content

smalltalk Scale Up – project information

Thank you for your interest in participating in the smalltalk Scale Up project.

The information on this page is to help you decide if you would like to participate. Please read this information carefully. You may ask questions about anything you don’t understand or want to know more about.

Participation is voluntary. If you don’t wish to take part, you don’t have to. If you begin participating, you can stop at any time.

If you are happy to participate, please read this consent form. Opening, filling out and submitting the survey implies your consent to participate.

What is the smalltalk Scale Up project?

Conducted by the Parenting Research Centre and Social Ventures Australia, this project aims to learn more about smalltalk-supported playgroups so we can work out what would be needed to expand the delivery of smalltalk to other areas in Australia.

The project has been approved by Parenting Research Centre’s Human Research Ethics Committee and has been funded by the Paul Ramsay Foundation.

What are we asking you to do?  

As a current smalltalk facilitator, we would like to hear your views about smalltalk. The survey will take around 30 minutes. You will be asked about smalltalk implementation, adaptation and fidelity, and smalltalk benefits and barriers. The survey will be completely anonymous. You can choose not to answer specific questions.

What are the possible benefits?  

Findings from this project may:

  • determine what is working well in smalltalk and what could be changed
  • assist in improving smalltalk for current and future facilitators, caregivers and children
  • help us prepare to deliver smalltalk in other areas around Australia

What are the possible risks?

Although it’s not very likely, it is possible that answering questions about smalltalk may make some people feel upset. If that happens, you are welcome to contact our psychologist Vince Lagioia on 0418 999 233 or vlagioia@parentingrc.org.au, or you may wish to contact your GP, other healthcare professional or Lifeline on 13 11 14 or https://www.lifeline.org.au

Confidentiality

This survey will be completely confidential and anonymous. No one will know if you participate or not and no one will know which responses are from you. All responses to survey questions will be reported as a group, rather than as individual facilitators.

No other organisations will have access to the information you give us and your involvement in this project will not affect your employment.

What will we do with the information you give us?

We will store all survey responses securely on computer systems that only members of the project team at the Parenting Research Centre and Social Ventures Australia have access to. Survey findings will be used in a report that is provided to the Paul Ramsay Foundation to better understand how smalltalk is working now, so we can plan future delivery of this program.

The report will also be posted on the Parenting Research Centre and smalltalk websites. We may also report findings from this project in academic articles, at conferences or in books. No project findings will be reported in a way that allows any participants to be identified.

Only staff in the project team will have access to survey responses. All data will be stored securely by the Parenting Research Centre and after seven years, these data will be destroyed.

Do I have to take part?

If you don’t want to take part in the survey, you don’t have to. You can choose to exit the survey at any time, and you can refuse to answer specific questions. It’s OK if you decide to pull out of the project after you have consented to participate. Withdrawing will not have any negative impact on your employment. You don’t need to give a reason for why you’ve decided to stop.

If you exit the survey early without clicking on ‘submit’, your responses will not be saved and therefore they will not be used in this project. If you decide you don’t want to take part anymore but have already clicked on ‘submit’, we won’t be able to remove your responses from our system because all responses will be anonymous.

If you are happy to participate, please read this consent form. Opening, filling out and submitting the survey implies your consent to participate.

Will I hear about the results of this project?

The results will be available in the project report, which will be posted on the Parenting Research Centre and smalltalk websites in 2023.

Consent

If you are happy to participate, please read this consent form. Opening, filling out and submitting the survey implies your consent to participate.

Contact us

You should feel free to ask questions at any time. If you have any questions about this project, please contact Catherine Webb at the Parenting Research Centre on 0409 994 916.

If you have a complaint or concern about this project, please contact the Parenting Research Centre Human Research Ethics Committee on (03) 8660 3500.

Researchers

Michelle Macvean: mmacvean@parentingrc.org.au
Vince Lagioia: vlagioia@parentingrc.org.au
Elly Robinson: erobinson@parentingrc.org.au
Zvezdana Petrovic: zpetrovic@parentingrc.org.au
Catherine Webb: cwebb@parentingrc.org.au
Michele Hervatin: mhervatin@parentingrc.org.au
Antony Gates: agates@parentingrc.org.au
Sara Abdi: sabdi@parentingrc.org.au
Rhiannon McKenzie: rmckenzie@parentingrc.org.au
Jack Coghlan: jcoghlan@socialventures.com.au
Margot Eliason: meliason@socialventures.com.au

Back to top